Transsiberian railway - or how to smuggle underpants...

You cannot imagine how delicious an average pizza or pasta tastes after four weeks of boiled (mutton) meat, potatoes and cabbage - it was fabulous!

 

However, we had problems to face: a non-extendable Mongolian visa about to expire and unaffordable last minute flights out of Mongolia. It left us the option to leave the country on the land route eighter towards the south or north. As China has refused to let us cross its borders before, we did not feel like going there that's why our only option left was Russia.

 

The Russian embassy however made it very clear to us that first, visas are not cheap and second, there is no way you can get a real tourist visa in less than two weeks in Mongolia. We finally ended up with a transit visa for 116 dollars (for a Swiss) with which we were allowed to take the train to Moscow, but only spend two nights outside of the train. This is how and why we ended up in a train for exactly 100 hours.


This journey took us through autumny Sibiria with perfect yellow-orange-red trees and deep blue skies. The view of all the untouched nature, change of the light as the days passed and the persistent tsch-tsch, tsch- tsch noise of the train built up a very relaxing athmosphere which we enjoyed a lot. We would have stayed in the train for another 100 hours with no problems at all.

We were never bored - a fact which might have been supported by the really entertaining smuggeling of tons of Chinese clothes which was going on. The clothes were sold to the Russians on the train stations, even when the stops were only five minutes. We are not quite sure if Sales were up for underpants but we were always having a careful look that not ours would be auctioned during the powershopping stops.

Exept for us, 11 Welsh teenies, one Australian and one Frensh couple, everybody on the train was included in the smuggeling, even the train hostesses and the train driver - we still have not found out where all the stuff was stored during the border crossing but we guess that it was hidden somewhere in the cealing of the train.

 

The robust technology of the train did its job and we did arrive on-time in Moscow.

And again... imagine pizza or pasta after four days of quick soup. Besides that the russian capital is probably the best city in the world to spot for Maybach, Bugatti, other italian sport cars and huge Mercedes limousines and to visit designer shops.

We only had 36 hrs in Moscow but did the most and visited the Kreml and its churches, the red place and its churches, other churches,  had a glimpse at Lenin's body, bought a Matruschka on the tourist market and enjoyed the view of Moscow's skyline and its olympic facilities.

Again we were amazed to observe a new way to pose on snapshots - the catwalk pose of the russian. 

Leaving for Athens and looking forward for good, fresh food, some diving and kiting and to spend money in Europe's crisis country felt like a good plan before heading home to cut the beard :-)

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 3
  • #1

    greterewse (Freitag, 07 Dezember 2012 09:43)

    I truly wanted to compose a small word so as to thank you for all the pleasant tips and tricks you are giving here. My time-consuming internet look up has at the end been compensated with sensible content to share with my neighbours. I would admit that we website visitors are undoubtedly blessed to dwell in a decent website with very many brilliant individuals with interesting advice. I feel pretty fortunate to have encountered your entire webpage and look forward to really more amazing minutes reading here. Thanks again for a lot of things.I have to express my appreciation to this writer for bailing me out of this type of setting. Because of checking through the the web and seeing tricks that were not helpful, I figured my life was done. Living minus the solutions to the issues you've fixed by way of this review is a critical case, as well as the ones that would have adversely affected my career if I hadn't noticed your web blog. Your main know-how and kindness in touching all the things was useful. I'm not sure what I would have done if I hadn't discovered such a stuff like this. I am able to now look forward to my future. Thank you so much for this specialized and amazing help. I won't think twice to propose your web blog to any person who desires counselling about this subject.

  • #2

    nerereder (Samstag, 08 Dezember 2012 13:38)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #3

    emcaustralia (Mittwoch, 15 Januar 2020 07:46)

    EMC - Education and Migration Centre- Best overseas education consultants & Migration Agents in Melbourne | Study in Australia |Immigration & Visa

    See more:- https://www.emcaustralia.com.au